OLDiE but GOODiE- WOOLiE!


Yarn braids blew up on the Internet for a lotta African Instagram chics and even a few daring white girls some time ago. Me, I decided not to be left out oo. A week before Valentine’s (as I foresaw no date that would require long ‘Brazilian’ weave ni), I went to make my own. 


I used 19 balls or wraps of yarn (wool as my Nigerian sisters will call it). 16 black and 3 gold ones, (that was as far as daring for me would go). I called a faithful hair stylist. On a fine Saturday morning, we began work.

It turned out beautifully. I couldn’t move my head properly for a whole day. But, I absolutely loved the pain.  We’ll just go through what was awesome and what wasn’t.
   
PROS; 

  • It was very affordable: That’s code for freaking cheap! I got a pack of 16 balls from Tradefair, Badagry for 800 Naira. The 3 singles were a hundred Naira each. All in all, less than BIS money.
  • The installation was by a loyal stylist as I mentioned earlier. She made the hair (inside my room and in all sorts of comfortable moods) for just 2000 Naira and a bottle of coke that had her name on it. (I had to go asearching for that wan!). Still less than Internet subscription money though.
  • The yarn can be fit to almost any length you want. Mine was as long as 20 inches.
  • I wore it for 7 weeks! Okay, more like 6 weeks plus.
  • It was gorgeous. People told me they loved my hair right up until the day I took it off.

CONS; 

  • Installments took the entire day. I did nothing else. After the entire thing, I just wanted to show my hair off and sleep for another day. Both at the same time.
  • Darn heavy. It gradually became lighter though. I think it shrinks or something.
  • I lost some of my front hair. (Dear missing edges. *tears* So much for protective hairstyling)

  
All in all, it was super awesome. I’ll rock this look again with maybe different colors.

Pardon me for the unprofessional pictures. The iPhone6 camera was just exciting me. Photo credit: Otu Esther 🙂

P.S. I should do a tutorial sort of thing for these makeup looks. What do you think?

Jer 29:11-  For I know the plans I have for you. Plans of good and not evil. To prosper you and give you hope and an expected end.

6 thoughts on “OLDiE but GOODiE- WOOLiE!

  1. Nice write up, I like.
    As for the hair, I can only admire it from afar. I love my hair too much to loose a strand.

    Like

    • Thank you! I agree. Though there are ways to get around that. The edges are the weakest part so you can just avoid those entirely and make it into a brush. 🙂

      Like

  2. Your posts are beautiful, I really like your blog! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

What do you think? Leave a Reply

